Education recognizes its faculty and staff

Return to news listing

Academic Recognition Ceremony celebrates faculty, staff

Faculty and academic staff from across campus were celebrated for their contributions to the university, academic community and pursuit of professional interests during the Academic Recognition Ceremony on April 25 at the McGregor Memorial Conference Center. The recognized individuals were nominated by their colleagues and celebrated by the campus community during the annual program, which was led by President M. Roy Wilson and Provost Keith Whitfield. 

"Wayne State University's core mission is to prepare our diverse student body to thrive. The individuals receiving awards today have helped us fulfill that responsibility through their service, scholarship, and teaching and mentoring," said Wilson. 

"I am pleased to be able to celebrate faculty, academic staff and graduate students who have achieved significant accomplishments in furthering the mission of Wayne State," said Whitfield. "Their work is inspiring to us all." 

Charles H. Gershenson & Board of Governors Distinguished Faculty Fellowship Awards 

The Charles H. Gershenson & Board of Governors Distinguished Faculty Fellowship Awards recognize and provide

Jazlin Ebenezer and Provost Whitfield
Dr. Jazlin Ebenezer & Provost Whitfield

support for members of the faculty whose continuing achievements and current activities in scholarship, research, or the fine and performing arts are nationally distinguished. The Charles H. Gershenson Distinguished Faculty Fellowships are part of the

benefaction to Wayne State by Charles H. Gershenson, who formerly served on the Board of Governors. The Board of Governors Distinguished Faculty fellowships are derived from revenues especially available to the Board. The term of each fellowship is two years. Since 1985, 86 Charles H. Gershenson Fellowships and 90 Board of Governors Fellowships have been awarded. This year’s recipients are:

Charles H. Gershenson Distinguished Faculty Fellowships:

  • Jazlin Ebenezer, professor, Division of Teacher Education in the College of Education
    Kurt Troutman & Provost Whitfield
    Kurt Troutman & Provost Whitfield

Academic Staff Awards

The Outstanding Contributor Award is presented in recognition of significant accomplishments during the previous academic

year and emerging leadership among junior academic staff. This year’s recipients are:

  • Kurt Troutman, academic services officer II in the College of Education

Recognition of Faculty Promotions

The college is honored to announce the following promotions and tenure for faculty:

Poonam Arya
Poonam Arya
  • Promotion to Full Professor
    Noel Kulik
    Noel Kulik
    Erika Bocknek

Poonam Arya (Teacher Education Division

  • Tenure & Promotion to Associate Professor

Erika Bocknek (Theoretical / Behavioral Foundations)

Noel Kulik (Kinesiology, Health & Sport Studies)

College of Education Awards

On Wednesday, April 24, 2019, the college held its annual spring luncheon and the following faculty and staff were recognized:

  • Faculty Scholarship Award
    Education Faculty & Staff Awards
    Awardees with Dean Whitman
  • Min Yu (Teacher Education Division)
  • Faculty Service Award
  • Kate Roberts (Teacher Education Division)
  • Support Staff Award
  • Alicia O’Connell (Kinesiology, Health & Sport Studies)

Recognition of College of Education Retirees

The college recognizes the following faculty and staff who are retiring from WSU.

Education Retirees
Retirees with Dean Whitman

Employee Recognition for Years of Service to Wayne State University

On Tuesday, April 23, 2019, the university hosted the annual Employee Recognition Program in the Community Arts Auditorium. Retirees and employees celebrating 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, 50, 55 and 60 years of service were recognized.